Attacking The Backlog

atom

I’ve built up a sizable backlog over two years of Humble Bundles and Steam Sales, and now that I find my console and handheld options depleting (I’ve been working through a string of good-to-great DS and 3DS titles lately, like Paper Mario: Sticker Star, Pokemon Conquest, and the incredible Fire Emblem: Awakening), I find myself turning to my PC for entertainment. You’d be hard-pressed to find a platform more devoid of quality JRPGs than the PC, and honestly, that’s just what I need right now after playing through a whole string of JRPGs in a row. For my next game, I’m looking for something that’s either not a huge time investment, or something that’s fast and visceral. Here are a few games I’ve been considering, so perhaps anybody that’s played these can help me out:

Atom Zombie Smasher – Picked this up in a Humble Bundle I don’t know how long ago, and I’ve always felt oddly compelled to try it. I only have a vague idea of what the game is about, but the screenshots look fun enough.

Darksiders – I love the heavy metal art style, and by all accounts, this game was a pretty decent Zelda clone. Got it for, like, a buck in that THQ Humble Bundle Fire Sale.

Fallout: New Vegas – I got this mainly because it’s made by Obsidian and written by Chris Avellone. The guy is just a master of morally ambiguous writing. The nuclear wasteland Wild West setting is also appealing. Even better: I’ve never played a Fallout game before, so there isn’t really any bar that I’ve set going into the game. Exciting!

Oddworld: Stranger’s Wrath HD – I got The Oddboxx in a Steam Sale a few years back, and have since received a free upgrade to the HD version of Stranger’s Wrath. Many call it a cult classic, creator Lorne Lanning calls it “sabotaged,” but who knows. It looks quirky and actiony, which could be a good combo for me right now.

Recettear: An Item Shop’s Tale – I’ve actually beaten this game already, but after playing the addictive Game Dev Story a couple weeks ago, I’ve been bitten once again by the simulation bug. My goal this time would be to collect all the adventurers, since I mostly focused on the store last playthrough.

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time – It’s a classic action platformer, right? Surprisingly, I’ve never played it or any of its gritty, Godsmack-filled sequels. I wonder if it still holds up ten years later.

Brutal Legend – This game was very flawed. I’ve beaten it once and really didn’t think I’d ever revisit it, but almost three years later, I feel like I want to just experience that world one more time. For all the awfulness of the RTS segments, it really does have a fantastically stylized world, and I’m a diehard metalhead, so they get bonus points for the best licensed soundtrack since Grand Theft Auto: Vice City. Still, surprisingly unfunny for a Tim Schafer game, especially in the second half of the game.

Star Wars: Empire at War – Another game I’ve already beaten countless times, but pummeling Rebel scum with a well-coordinated fleet of Star Destroyers is so damn satisfying.

8 thoughts on “Attacking The Backlog

  1. I had a blast with Prince of Persia: Sands of Time way back when on the Gamecube. It provided minimal frustration and didn’t take forever to beat (though I don’t recall offhand how many hours it took). The gameplay and controls were so fluid and intuitive, and it had really pretty graphics (even for the Gamecube!). True, it is a 10 year old action platformer, but it’s one of the best PoP titles.

    • Having not played Atom Zombie Smasher, but loving Blendo Games’ Thirty Flights of Loving, I’m gonna say I’m curious enough to spend some time with it.

      But New Vegas really is an incredibly rich and brilliant experience – especially on Hardcore mode. It really adds to your investment as a player.

      • AZS is just full of its own unique blend of style, random-fun, and addictive strategy. It’s one of those games you can lose yourself in without really knowing it, only to lose it all on a few simple mistakes.

Comment on this article

